Skip to content

Friday Finds ☆ Bagel Bagel in Kemang, South Jakarta

September 13, 2012

What do you crave when you’re overseas? Bagels are my favorite kind of bread and I miss bagels when I’m not in the States and I’m not even American. When I lived in Dakar, Senegal, between 2003 and 2005, there was no store to buy bagels, so I made my own bagels at home. Bagel making is labor intensive, so to make bagels at home is a labor of love. If you deprive me of bagels, that’s where I get. I have heard of Bagel Bagel since it opened in 2011 and I have been wanting to check out Bagel Bagel in Kemang, but I have not been able to for a long time. The other day, I had some time so I finally made my way out there and purchased a half-dozen bagels. I bought 3 chocolate chip bagels and 3 cinnamon raisin bagels, my favorite. I find them a bit hard, but if you toast them a little bit, they get softer. The prices are slightly more expensive compared to the bagels you find at major bagel shops in the States. I would like to try their bagel sandwiches some other time.

I loved walking around on Jalan Benda Raya street where Bagel Bagel is located. I got out of my car in front of a Mi Casa spa, which by the way I recommend for pedicure and walked around till I got to Bagel Bagel. There is no pavement, so it’s not the easiest walk, but I enjoyed the stroll as there were so many interesting stores around this area. It is a cool area for sure and I saw some neat furniture shops.

I spotted this store that was unfortunately closed when I was there. The window display was so adorable that I could not help taking photos.

BAGEL BAGEL

KEMANG STORE
Jl. Benda Raya 14D, Kemang
MON-THU 06.00-20.00 WIB; FRI-SUN 06.00-21.00 WIB
Delivery Service: 781 8769 / 3625 2345

SCBD STORE
Imagerie Fairgrounds Lot 14 SCBD
SUN-THU 07.00 -22.00 WIB; FRI-SAT 07.00-24.00 WIB
Delivery Service: 515 0250

Bagel Bagel delivers bagels to your door. In a city like Jakarta where traffic can be horrendous, a delivery service is very appealing.

Bagel Bagel on Facebook

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 6:20 pm

    I was getting homesick for new York seeing these bagels…and then I realized this store is in Kemang!

    • September 13, 2012 6:56 pm

      Hi!! Hahaha, that’s funny! New Yorkers must miss the delicious bagels and pizzas that you can’t find the equivalent quality in other cities!

  2. September 15, 2012 6:32 am

    Hi, these look so delicious. I will definitely want to try some…

  3. September 15, 2012 7:57 am

    Every time I go to kemang I try to get a few. I usually get a dozen and freeze them and we just have them for breakfast. You have to teach me how to make bagels!!!

    • September 15, 2012 10:59 am

      Ah, it was so long ago! Bagels are hard to make. I failed twice out of three times… Freezing them is a good idea.

  4. September 16, 2012 1:09 pm

    Aah! Where was Silla? In Benda too? They used to have a shop over at Grand Indonesia’s Level One, but I’m not sure if they’re still there.. I’ve been meaning to see if they still have animal-head-clothes-hooks :D

    • September 16, 2012 6:22 pm

      Yep, I took the photo on the Benda Street. Animal-head clothes hooks! How fun! So nice to see you here!!

    • September 18, 2012 2:59 pm

      I’m gonna go visit Benda soon :D

      There’s a new inteior place open in Kemang Raya called ‘Things I Like’ if you’re interested, I haven’t been there myself, I just noticed it the other day.. Kemang changes shops so quickly!

    • September 18, 2012 7:05 pm

      I’ll have to check out “Things I Like”! I love Kemang. So cool.

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Finds ☆ THE GOODS DINER « Chuzai Living

Lovely Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 370 other followers

